Run

DSC01136

Quick! Run for the hills.  Aliens are invading!  They have longish appendages that stretch towards you.  I’m trying to evade abduction!

I live in an area with a population of approximately 6000 people within an 15 kilometer area.  This weekend the population will swell to 20,000 plus.  This is Rum Rummer Days with Thunder in the Valley (fireworks that last about 20 mins.).  People from all over the world come to and plan their vacation around this event.  It is quite the spectacle.  People camp in every green spot and non green spot that they can find.

Normally when I take Davin for a walk down main street we are lucky if we see more then two people. So I thought that I would take him for a walk this evening.  Good opportunity for socialization.  I don’t think he was too impressed with that idea. His eyes were spinning in his head trying to see everything at once.  My eyes where spinning in my head for the same reason.  Maybe I need more socialization!

A one point we walked past a Golden Retriever.  Davin almost threw himself at this dog in happiness.  I think he was trying to convince the golden to save him from the invading alien force.  But I dragged him away much to his dismay.

I decided to walk him by the Midway.  First at a distance where I sat him down to see how he was doing.  He didn’t seem to mind the noise at all.  So I took him right to it.  He was pretty good with all the machines.

Oh the smells of the Midway.  The smell of mini donuts, marijuana, kettle corn, marijuana, cotton candy…..

I walked him around for about an hour and a half.  He was relaxing as time went on.  So tomorrow I will take him again.  The crowds will be even bigger but there will a lot of dogs around as well to help him feel better.  I don’t plan on going to the fireworks this year.  I don’t feel like dealing with all that traffic.  A five minute trip home can take up to 3 hours.  I would never take my dogs to the fireworks.  I can’t believe how many do.  The poor dogs end up being so freaked out it’s awful to see.

Oh and I better remember to bring some money tomorrow….mini donuts…yum, yum.  That will make Davin happy too.

2 thoughts on “Run

  1. the pass doesn’t change much does it…the good old smell of marijuana wafting around town on Rum Runners weekend…do they still do the duck race?

Leave a Reply

