The Shepherd Within

On Sunday I took the dogs to a friend’s ranch for a visit. They love going to this place.  There are a million smells with room to run at their hearts content.  My friend has a German Shepherd who is related to mine.  So Davin got to hang out with two shepherds. I have been sensing an identity crisis coming on for sometime now.

IMG_0022

The host dog Ryder.  Davin is in love with him.

IMG_0072

Ryder watching the city dogs run around checking things out.  They’re acting like, well…city dogs.

IMG_0052

Of course what’s a ranch experience without the spa.  Oops I mean swamp.  And that water was muddy!

IMG_0018

Then of course there’s always the touristy photo op to prove you were here.

IMG_0013

But then I knew that I had stayed too long.  The ear is up, he is starting to lose control of who he really is.

IMG_0023

Free, free at last to be a shepherd, a German Shepherd.

I wonder if I should break it to him gently that he is an Australian Shepherd?

5 thoughts on “The Shepherd Within

Leave a Reply

