Busy Weekend Part Two

On Sunday my sister, niece and nephew in law and I went to Waterton Lakes National Park.  It is only about an hour from where I live.  I wanted to go kayaking on Cameron Lake for some time now and with my niece and nephew down we decided to pack up a picnic and go kayak.  Oh and we left the dogs home much to their howling dismay.  The day started out beautiful but of course with the crappy weather we’ve had all summer I know the sun won’t last.

At the start of our trip.  This is where we are headed to.

Beautiful views along the way.

Finally at the other end of the lake. The scenery was spectacular.

And of course, the black clouds start rolling in when we are at the opposite end of the lake.

We started paddling back way faster but there was no out running the weather.  The rain and thunder started which then became a full-fledged storm.  There was lightning flashing all around and here we are in the middle of the lake.  My sister was sure she was about to get struck by lighting.  The wind picked up which meant now we were also paddling against the waves.  Then the rain turned into a torrential downpour.  I’m just glad it wasn’t hail.  That would have hurt!  By the time we made it to shore we were a sorry-looking group of people.  I won’t show you that picture.  Even though the weather turned crappy we had a fun day.

I can’t wait to go back, hopefully when the weather is better.

One thought on “Busy Weekend Part Two

  1. You can’t talk about it and not show it – come on. We want to see drowned rats. 🙂 Sounds like a great day until the end. Yikes! That happened to me once in a Canoe when I was 14. We ended up tipping over (by accident) and swimming to shore near a cottage who just happened to have a very cute male inhabitant (which at the time made it worse, not better! LOL!). The waterfalls are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

